These articles might answer your enquiry…

Search the knowledge area

What are the agreed highways conservation areas?

The following conservation areas were agreed at the Lead Member Meeting on 15 October 2007.  While towns have their own conservation areas the list below is the one that East Sussex Highways follow for making like-for-like repairs:

Eastbourne: Meads Street
Hastings: Norman Road, East Ascent, Maze Hill, Kenilworth Road
Lewes: High Street (Western Road to Friars Walk)
Wealden: Alfriston (High Street)
Rother: Citadel area of Rye, taken to be the following streets:
Watchbell Street, Church Square, Mermaid Street, Market Street, West Street, East Street, Conduit Hill, East Cliff, High Street, The Mint

For Borough and District Conservation areas please visit East Sussex County Council's website.

What do you do differently in conservation areas?

  • Conservation footways – If a footway is in a conservation area, the paving slab will be replaced with another slab.  In non-conservation areas the paving slab will be replaced with the most suitable material, for example tarmac.   Sometimes a temporary repair using tarmac will be carried out in a conservation area until permanent repairs are made.
  • Conservation street lighting – Old or damaged street lights are usually replaced with standard street lights.  If the road is in a conservation area we can ask local councils to help with extra costs for non-standard street lights.  If no funds are available, standard lighting is installed.  Street light columns in conservation areas are repainted every ten years whereas street light columns in non-conservation areas are not painted.


The district/borough/town council’s website says my street is in a conversation area, why isn’t it on your list?

District / Borough / Town Councils have their own conservation areas based on factors such as buildings, parks, etc.  If you have any questions about the district, borough or town council’s own lists then please contact them directly.

Conservation Areas report »